域名支持组织

来自Chinese ICANNWiki
(重定向自DNSO
跳转至: 导航搜索

在2003年以前,域名支持组织DNSO)是根据 互联网名称与数字地址分配机构(ICANN)章程 成立的三个 (ICANN支持组织之一。[1]后来被通用名称支持组织(GNSO)取代。[2] DNSO对ICANN董事会处理与域名系统 (DNS)相关的事务提出建议。其主要议程是讨论如何以及何时通过添加除.com之外的新顶级域来扩展互联网。[3]

DNSO主席Thomas Roessler在重建时写道:“大约在阿姆斯特丹时间周日(2002年12月15日)上午9:10至9:40,DNSO将不再存在(也许不是凤凰涅槃,而将成为GNSO )……”他的完整告别邮件可以参阅这里

结构[编辑 | 编辑源代码]

DNSO由两部分组成:由选自DNSO成员的代表组成的名称委员会(NC),以及由所有相关实体和个人组成的一般集会(GA)。[3]

其中一个对DNSO结构表达最大不满的是国家代码顶级域(ccTLD)注册局运营商,他们感到该支持组织主要关心通用顶级域,而他们需要属于他们自己的独立组织。2002年10月29日,国家代码管理者通过完全退出DNSO强调了他们的不满。[4]该举动引发并且加速了向通用名称支持组织(GNSO)的转换,并且最终于2002年12月最完成。创建国家代码名称支持组织(ccNSO)的工作从2002年9月开始,在2003年6月举办的ICANN 蒙特利尔会议期间创建完成。[5]

DNSO成员[编辑 | 编辑源代码]

DNSO初期成员包括:

• * 注册商s[3]

DNSO流程[编辑 | 编辑源代码]

  1. DNSO的角色是ICANN 董事会顾问,向董事会提供与 DNS有关的实质性政策。
  1. DNSO在向董事会提交请求之前必须取得共识。
  2. DNSO向董事会提出的所有建议都面向所有的支持组织(SOs)开放以供其评论。

在满足下列条件时,ICANN董事会将接受DNSO的建议:

  • 政策是出于ICANN的利益考量并且有助于进一步实现ICANN目标
  • 政策与ICANN条款和章程保持一致
  • 政策的制定流程是开放和公平的
  • 政策没有遭到其他支持组织的反对

除非通过投票表明,除了DNSO选举的董事之外,均支持董事会采纳,否则董事会将不采纳DNSO的任何建议。如果董事会对一项提议不满意,那么董事会可以将之返回DNSO要求进一步考量,并列举其拒绝的理由。如果DNSO仍无法使其政策让人接受,则ICANN董事会可以创建、修改或修正其建议,然后批准该建议。[3]

Chinese translation of this page provided thanks to TLD Registry Ltd.

References[编辑 | 编辑源代码]

DNSO

From ICANNWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Prior to 2003, the Domain Name Supporting Organization (DNSO) was one of the three ICANN supporting organizations called for under the ICANN Bylaws.[1] It has since been replaced by the Generic Names Supporting Organization (GNSO).[2] The DNSO advised the ICANN Board about handling issues related to the Domain Name System (DNS). Its primary agenda was to discuss how and when to expand the Internet by adding new TLDs beyond .com.[3]

The DNSO chair at the time of restructuring, Thomas Roessler, wrote "At some point of time between 9:10 and 9:40 a.m. Amsterdam time on Sunday [15 December 2002], the DNSO ceased to be (and will, perhaps not unlike a phoenix from the ashes, become the GNSO).." His entire farewell email can be found here.

Structure

The DNSO was comprised of two bodies: the Names Council (NC), which was made up of elected representatives from the DNSO Constituencies, and the General Assembly (GA), made up of all interested entities and individuals.[3]

One of the biggest complaints with the structuring of the DNSO came from ccTLD registry operators, who felt that the SO was mainly concerned with gTLDs and that they needed their own separate organization. On October, 29, 2002, the country code managers emphasized their dissatisfaction by withdrawing completely from the DNSO.[4] This action prompted and expedited the transition to the GNSO, which was created in December, 2002. Work began on creating the Country Code Names Supporting Organization (ccNSO) in September, 2002, culminating in the creation of the ccNSO at ICANN Montreal in June, 2003.[5]

DNSO Constituencies

The initial constituencies of the DNSO were as follows:

DNSO Process

  1. The DNSO served in an advisory role to the ICANN Board and provided the Board with substantive policies related to the DNS.
  2. The DNSO first needed to reach a consensus before submitting requests to the Board.
  3. All the recommendations made by the DNSO to the Board were made open to all Supporting Organizations (SOs) so that they could comment.

The ICANN Board accepted the recommendations of the DNSO only if:

  • The policy is in the interest of the Corporation and helps to further the purposes of the Corporation
  • The policy is consistent with the Articles and Bylaws of the Corporation
  • The policy was framed through an open and fair process
  • The policy is not opposed by other Supporting Organizations

The Board would not adopt any recommendation by the DNSO unless the votes, excluding those of the DNSO-selected Directors, are in favor of adoption by the Board. If the Board is not satisfied with a recommendation then it can return it to the DNSO for further consideration, citing the reasons for its declination. If the DNSO still fails to make the policy acceptable, then the ICANN Board may initiate, modify or amend and then approve the recommendation.[3]

References