Dyn

From Chinese ICANNWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Dyn[edit | edit source]

Dyn是一家基于云计算的互联网性能公司。Dyn的业务包括帮助企业监测、控制和优化在线基础设施以带来卓越的终端用户体验。Dyn为Alexa 1000全球排名当中访问量最高的网站提供网络性能服务,这些网站包括Twitter、Netflix、潘多拉、捷步达康、CNBC、Etsy、BT、贺喜、卫报和寻找阿尔法等。Dyn的互联网性能产品包括Dyn Internet Intelligence、IP Transit Intelligence、Traffic Director、Managed DNS和Managed DNS Express。Dyn还提供域名服务和电子邮件产品。Dyn的公司总部位于美国新罕布什尔州的曼彻斯特,并在英国布莱顿、新加坡和美国新罕布什尔州汉诺威市设有办事处。

历史[edit | edit source]

Dyn最初是一项在伍斯特理工学院发展起来的免费服务。它一开始被称为DynDNS 并且致力于为用户提供一种能从家有电脑上托管一个网站的DNS服务。随着业务的不断扩大,它从完全免费转型成接受捐赠的运营模式,这使得他们能够在几周内获得世界各地的用户捐赠的4万美金。这种基于捐赠的运营模式一直持续到2008年,直到高级版服务DynECT 平台的出现。DynECT 平台为用户提供了相关的先进的DNS服务,包括但不限于:循环赛负载平衡、CDN管理、流量管理和主动故障切换。Dyn的服务主要面向企业客户。

2010年,Dyn购买了位于新罕布什尔州曼彻斯特市的SendLabs。这次收购使得 Dyn有实力开始提供信息管理服务。这种流量管理和信息管理服务的融合使得 Dyn能够把自己定位为互联网性能解决方案专家。2014 年,Dyn收购了Renesys并开始提供互联网智能服务。Dyn现在把自己描述为一个在云计算及公共互联网资源领域提供无懈可击的可见性和可控性管理的网络性能管理公司。Dyn的平台通过数据、分析及流量引导来监测、控制和优化应用程序及网络基础设施,以确保流量的传递比以往更快、更安全、更可靠。


服务

Dyn为互联网性能管理提供了一个平台,并提供支撑这一核心业务的其他服务,如域名和邮件服务。[1] Dyn互联网性能管理平台包括: 网络、 互联网情报: 传输、互联网警报、DNS管理、主动故障切换、 流量引导,动态导流、域名和电子邮件服务


3800万美元“少数投资”

2012年10月,Dyn 宣布接受North Bridge3800万美元的A轮少数股权投资。这项投资扩大了Dyn最初只由两位创始人执掌的董事会。[2]董事会成员现在包括:Jeremy Hitchcock、Michael Boustridge、Jason Calacanis、Scott Dussault、Ric Fulop、John Lynch和Russ Pyle。


收购ReadyStatus

2013年12月23日,Dyn宣布收购ReadyStatus。ReadyStatus是一个为用户提供服务中断提醒的工具(包括计划内和计划外的服务终端),从而改进终端用户和企业之间的互动。Dyn为这项新服务制定的多个计划。其中一项计划是将ReadyStatus与Dyn的DNS管理板块的流量引导高级功能相结合,这意味着如果一家公司的网站出现故障,他们的主页可以自动切换到状态更新通知页面,这样用户就不会不知所措了。[3]


收购Trendslide

2013 年5月13日,Dyn 宣布收购移动仪表板应用程序初创企业Trendslide。此次收购扩大 Dyn 了的服务范围并为其增加了移动数据和分析服务。虽然这个移动应用程序以往是被当做销售或者市场营销工具,但是Dyn将它定位为为其企业客户服务的DevOps工具。除此以外,Dyn于2012 年年底收购Verelo、聘请Pete Cheslock作为 Dyn总监、提拔Carl Levine作为DevOps技术布道师(Evangelist)。总总动作证明Dyn正致力于成为DevOps领域一个重要的部分。[4]


收购Verelo

2013 年 1月2日,Dyn宣布收购来自多伦多的名为Verelo的网站监测初创企业。就在几周前,Verelo向公众宣布它因为它没有足够的资金进行扩张,所以将在创立六个月后关闭公司。这项关闭声明发出之后,Dyn随即向Verelo开出一个未对外公开的,能够为Verelo的初始投资人带来回报的收购报价。Verelo提供网站运行时间和性能分析,以及恶意软件检测和网络安全监测技术。秉承Dyn的 "以正常运行时间为底线"的理念,在收购了Verelo之后,Dyn决定为顾客提供与运营时间相关的免费额外服务。[5]


收购Nettica

Dyn于2014年3月26日宣布收购美国的DNS管理提供商Nettica。[6]


收购Renesys

Dyn 于2014年5月21日宣布收购了互联网情报公司Renesys 。这次收购使得Dyn有能力推出Dyn 互联网情报和IP传输情报产品,协助客户作出即时、明智的判断,以帮助他们改善其互联网应用程序的性能。[7]


相关组织[edit | edit source]

Dyn与以下组织保持关联:

  • NANOG[8]
  • Community College System of NH[9]
  • ICANN[10]
  • MAAWG[11]
  • ABI (Amoskeag企业孵化器)[12]
  • NHHTC[13]
  • Stay Work Play
  • MYPN
  • IETF
  • US First


所获奖项[edit | edit source]

在2014年1月14日,Dyn被评选为美国50个最具有吸引力的公司之一。[14]

2013年11月,Dyn在德勤的500个增长最快的科技公司排行榜上位列210。[15]

在2013年公布的Inc. 5000榜单上,Dyn名列第1135,这也是Dyn连续第三年入选。[16]

在2013年被WorldBlu评选为最民主的公司之一。[17]

References[edit | edit source]

Dyn

From ICANNWiki
Jump to: navigation, search
DynLogo.png
ICANNWiki Member
Type: Privately Held
Industry: Internet Performance Solutions
Founded: USA, 1998
Headquarters: Manchester, New Hampshire
Country: USA
Employees: 400-500
Website: Dyn.com
Blog: Blog
Facebook: Dyn
LinkedIn: Dyn
Twitter: TwitterIcon.png@Dyn
Key People
Jeremy Hitchcock, CEO

Kyle York, CMO
Kevin Bisson, CFO
Matt Larson, CTO
Scott Hilton, EVP, Products

Dyn (pronounced “dine”) is a cloud-based Internet Performance company. Dyn helps companies monitor, control, and optimize online infrastructure for an exceptional end-user experience. Dyn is the leading Internet Performance provider to the most visited web properties in the world, as measured by the Alexa 1000, including Twitter, Netflix, Pandora, Zappos, CNBC, Etsy, BT, Hershey, The Guardian and Seeking Alpha.[1] Their Internet Performance product suite includes Dyn Internet Intelligence, IP Transit Intelligence, Traffic Director, Managed DNS and Managed DNS Express. Dyn also offers Domain services and Email products. Dyn’s corporate headquarters are located in Manchester, NH, USA, with offices in Brighton, UK, Singapore, and Hanover, NH, USA.

History

Dyn began as a free service running out of Worcester Polytechnic Institute. It was called DynDNS and offered users a DNS service capable of hosting a website from a home computer. As the business continued to grow, it shifted from a free model to a donation-based model, which enabled them to make $40,000 in weeks, from users around the world. The donation based model continued until a premium service called the DynECT Platform became available in 2008. The DynECT Platform offered advanced DNS related services to customers including but not limited to: Round Robin Load Balancing, CDN Management, Traffic Management, and Active Failover. The service was mainly geared toward enterprise-level consumers.

In 2010, Dyn purchased the Manchester, New Hampshire-based SendLabs. This acquisition allowed Dyn to begin offering message management services. This combination of traffic management and message management services allows Dyn to bill itself as a provider of Internet performance solutions. In 2014, Dyn acquired Renesys and began offering internet intelligence services. The company nows calls itself an Internet Performance Management company that provides unrivaled visibility and control into cloud and public Internet resources. Dyn’s platform monitors, controls and optimizes applications and infrastructure through Data, Analytics, and Traffic Steering, ensuring traffic gets delivered faster, safer, and more reliably than ever.

Services

Dyn offers a platform for Internet Performance of Internet Performance, as well as supporting services, such as Domain and Email Services that complement these core competencies.[1]

Dyn's platform for Internet Performance Management includes:
Internet Intelligence, Internet Intelligence: Network, Internet Intelligence: Transit, Internet Alerts
Managed DNS, Active Failover, Traffic Director, Dynamic Steering
Domain and Email Services

$38 million Minority Investment

In October 2012, it was announced that Dyn had received a $38 million Series A minority investment from North Bridge. The investment deal also expanded the Board of Directors for the company, which was originally staffed by only two of Dyn's founders.[2] The Board now includes: Jeremy Hitchcock, Michael Boustridge, Jason Calacanis, Scott Dussault, Ric Fulop, John Lynch, and Russ Pyle.

ReadyStatus Acquisition

On December 23, 2013, Dyn announced it had acquired ReadyStatus, a tool that notifies customers of planned and unplanned service interruptions, thereby creating improved communication between end users and companies. The company has many plans for this new service, one of which includes integrating ReadyStatus with Dyn Managed DNS advanced feature Traffic Director, so if a company’s site goes down, their homepage can automatically failover to a status update page and end users won’t be left in the dark. Dyn customers should expect general availability and complete integration into the future product suite in the next year.[3]

Trendslide Acquisition

On May 13, 2013, Dyn announced it had acquired Trendslide, a mobile dashboard app startup. The acquisition expands Dyn’s services to now include mobile data and analytics offerings for online businesses. While this mobile app was traditionally intended to be a sales/marketing tool, Dyn will now position it as a DevOps tool for its customers. This move, combined with the acquisition of Verelo in late 2012 and the hiring of Pete Cheslock as Dyn Director of Dev Tools and the promotion of Carl Levine to DevOps Evangelist, is proof that Dyn is committed to being an important voice and part of the DevOps community.[4]

Verelo Acquisition

On January 2 2013, Dyn announced that it had acquired Verelo, a Toronto-based website monitoring start-up. Just a few weeks prior, Verelo announced to the public that it would be closing down six months after its launch as it did not have the resources to gain traction and take the company to the next level. Dyn subsequently approached the company and made an undisclosed offer that provided for a return to Verelo's initial investors. The company offers website uptime and performance analytics as well as malware detection and site health monitoring services, and given that Dyn's mantra is "Uptime is the Bottom Line", the acquisition will be used to offer a number of new services to its customers at no extra charge.[5]

Nettica Acquisition

Add Nettica Acquisition: Dyn announced on March 26, 2014 that it had acquired Nettica, a US-based managed DNS provider.[6]

Renesys Acquisition

Dyn announced on May 21, 2014 that it had acquired Renesys, the authority on Internet intelligence. This acquisition enabled Dyn to launch Dyn Internet Intelligence and IP Transit Intelligence, to give customers the insight to make instant, intelligent decisions to improve the performance of their Internet enabled applications.[7]

Associations

Dyn maintains associations with the following organizations -

Awards and Recognition

  • Named as one of Achievers 50 Most Engaged Workplaces in the United States on January 14, 2014.[14]
  • In November 2013, Dyn was listed as #210 on Deloitte's Technology Fast 500 List.[15]
  • Listed as #1135 on the famed Inc. 5000 list in 2013, Dyn's third consecutive year in making it on the list.[16]
  • Recognized by WorldBlu as one of the Most Democratic Places Workplaces of 2013.[17]

References